Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav
The End of the World Running Club
Cover of The End of the World Running Club
The End of the World Running Club
Borrow Borrow Borrow

The #1 International Bestseller!
A Science Fiction & Fantasy Book to Keep on Your Radar by io9 and Gizmodo

A powerful post-apocalyptic thriller, perfect for fans of The Martian. When the sky begins to fall, one man finds himself separated from his family, his best hope is to run—or risk losing what he loves forever.

When the world ends and you find yourself stranded on the wrong side of the country, every second counts. No one knows this more than Edgar Hill: over five hundred miles of devastated wasteland stretch between him and his family. To get back to them, he must push himself to the very limit—or risk losing them forever.

His best option is to run. But what if his best isn't good enough? End of the World Running Club is an otherworldly yet extremely human story of hope, love, and the endurance of both body and spirit.

Praise for The End of the World Running Club:
"Harrowing and heartrending, this is a novel that is almost impossible to put down." —Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW

"Walker's ability to imagine a post-apocalyptic world in crisp detail is on full display in the early pages of The End of World Running Club." — Maximum Shelf

"...a beautifully written postapocalyptic tale of a flawed man's struggle for survival and redemption." — Booklist

"A fresh and frighteningly real take on what "the end" might be...quite an exciting and nerve-wracking 'run', with characters

The #1 International Bestseller!
A Science Fiction & Fantasy Book to Keep on Your Radar by io9 and Gizmodo

A powerful post-apocalyptic thriller, perfect for fans of The Martian. When the sky begins to fall, one man finds himself separated from his family, his best hope is to run—or risk losing what he loves forever.

When the world ends and you find yourself stranded on the wrong side of the country, every second counts. No one knows this more than Edgar Hill: over five hundred miles of devastated wasteland stretch between him and his family. To get back to them, he must push himself to the very limit—or risk losing them forever.

His best option is to run. But what if his best isn't good enough? End of the World Running Club is an otherworldly yet extremely human story of hope, love, and the endurance of both body and spirit.

Praise for The End of the World Running Club:
"Harrowing and heartrending, this is a novel that is almost impossible to put down." —Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW

"Walker's ability to imagine a post-apocalyptic world in crisp detail is on full display in the early pages of The End of World Running Club." — Maximum Shelf

"...a beautifully written postapocalyptic tale of a flawed man's struggle for survival and redemption." — Booklist

"A fresh and frighteningly real take on what "the end" might be...quite an exciting and nerve-wracking 'run', with characters

Available formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
  • Interest Level:
  • Text Difficulty:

Recommended for you

About the Author-
  • Adrian J Walker is the author of THE END OF THE WORLD RUNNING CLUB, and was born in the bush suburbs of Sydney, Australia in the mid '70s. After his father found a camper van in a ditch, he moved his family back to the UK, where Adrian was raised. He now lives with his family in France. Visit Adrian online: www.adrianjwalker.com
Reviews-
  • Publisher's Weekly

    July 31, 2017
    Walker’s ambitious debut novel offers a gripping portrayal of a postapocalyptic world. This type of end-of-the-world story has been told before, but rarely with the intensity and believability that Walker creates here. Edgar Hill, a lazy, unhappy man, lives with his family in Edinburgh, Scotland, when an asteroid barrage strikes Earth, destroying modern civilization. Unprepared physically or mentally for the widespread death and destruction that follows, Edgar must finally face his responsibilities as a husband and father, and he knows he won’t measure up. Clustered with a few surviving civilians and soldiers, Edgar is separated from his family when they are evacuated by a rescue helicopter, leaving Edgar and six others behind. Without hope of rescue, the six men and one woman flee to the south, across a landscape of chaos and despair. Edgar and the others must run to get to Cornwall, 450 miles away, chasing a rumor of sanctuary and seaborne evacuation, pursued by killers and gangs of murderous survivors driven mad by desperation and hopeless resignation. Edgar has never run in his life, but is determined to reunite with his family, and so sets a remarkable example of endurance and self-sacrifice for the others. This is a wholly convincing and exciting novel.

  • Library Journal

    September 1, 2017

    Already an international best seller, Walker's (From the Storm) postapocalyptic take is fresh and unparalleled in a genre that's saturated by aliens or zombies (or both). Edgar Hill lives an ordinary, if unfulfilling, life with his wife and two children in Scotland. One winter morning, after a long night of crying children and an angry wife, he thinks to himself, "What if this all just went away?" His idle thoughts become reality in the worst possible way when asteroids rain down on their town. Holed up in their cellar with minimal water and supplies, the Hills manage to survive until help arrives, but most of their neighbors aren't so lucky. Nor is the rest of Britain. Assigned to a miserable refugee camp, Ed does everything he can to escape the tedium, and his family, including volunteering for scouting missions. Returning from one of these forays, Ed and his companions discover the camp has been evacuated to a new location hundreds of miles away. The running club is born--without transportation, it's the only chance they have to find their group. Initially a dislikable character, Ed emerges as a hero from the wreckage, and readers will cheer, perhaps unwillingly at first, for a very human father. VERDICT Harrowing and heartrending, this is a novel that is almost impossible to put down.--Jane Henriksen Baird, Anchorage P.L., AK

    Copyright 2017 Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Anne Corlett, author of The Space Between the Stars "Adrian Walker breaks your heart in unexpected ways, and leaves you with a sense of stories still to be told. An end-of-the-world tale that is anything but an ending.
    "
  • New York Times bestselling author Robert McCammon "A fresh and frighteningly real take on what "the end" might be . . . quite an exciting and nerve-wracking 'run', with characters you believe in and feel for."
  • Library Journal "Harrowing and heartrending, this is a novel that is almost impossible to put down. "
Title Information+
  • Publisher
    Sourcebooks
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 day(s).

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Close

Enhanced Details

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
The End of the World Running Club
The End of the World Running Club
Adrian J. Walker
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Clicking on the 'Buy It Now' link will cause you to leave the library download platform website. The content of the retail website is not controlled by the library. Please be aware that the website does not have the same privacy policy as the library or its service providers.
Close
Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel